News Stories

Former Fish capture AHL Calder Cup with Griffins

Congratulations to our AHL affiliate, the Grand Rapids Griffins, for winning the 2017 Calder Cup! The Griffins were backstopped by former Walleye goalie Jared Coreau, with other former Fish contributing towards the championship.

Former Walleye players who saw playoff action with Grand Rapids include Coreau, Mike Borkowski, Martin Frk and Brian Lashoff. Frk scored what turned out to be the cup clinching goal in Game 6.

Former Walleye players Cal Heeter, Mathew Santos and Dylan Sadowy were on the Grand Rapids playoff roster but did not see any postseason action.

The Griffins also had former ECHL players Matthew Ford (Charlotte), Edward Pasquale (Gwinnett, Brampton) and Ben Street (Wheeling).