News Stories

Five join the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame

Five join the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame

The Toledo Walleye along with the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame Committee are pleased to announce the inductees to the 2018 Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame class.

  • Dave Falkenberg- Defenseman (Goaldiggers: 1979-86)
  • Bill Inglis- Head Coach (Goaldiggers: 1980-84)
  • Jim McCabe- Forward (Goaldiggers:  1974-80)
  • Bill “Red” Mitchell- Defenseman/Head Coach (Mercurys: 1952-62; Blades: 1964-68; Hornets: 1970-71)
  • Andy Mulligan- Defenseman/Coach/General Manager  (Babcocks: 1940-41; Mercurys: 1947-62; Buckeyes: 1949-50)

“When you look back at Toledo’s hockey history and the mark these five men made in the game of hockey and for Toledo, it makes us honored to raise a banner with their names and induct them as the third Hall of Fame class,” says Neil Neukam, Toledo Walleye Executive Vice President and General Manager.  “Dave Falkenberg displayed a great combination of scoring and toughness. Bill Inglis followed in the footsteps of legendary Goaldiggers coach Ted Garvin with two Turner Cup championships. “The Tin Man”, Jim McCabe, was known for his scoring and great sportsmanship. Bill Mitchell’s impact was felt over three decades and three different teams, and we wouldn’t have such a rich hockey tradition here in Toledo without the tremendous contributions by Andy Mulligan.”

The Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame was created to honor those individuals who have excelled as athletes, as coaches, and those individuals or staff members who have been fervent supporters helping to shape Toledo’s hockey heritage. 

The nomination and subsequent selection of candidates was determined by the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame committee, made up of former coaches, players, team historians, and media, with input from Toledo hockey fans during the voting phase.  



The defenseman from Red Deer, Alberta racked up more points in a Goaldiggers jersey than any other player (177 g, 261 a, 438 pts). Played seven seasons in Toledo, and helped the Goaldiggers win back-to-back Turner Cups in 1982 and 1983.     



The Ottawa, Ontario native played in 36 career NHL games, and was Buffalo Sabres head coach during the 1978-79 season. Inglis guided the Toledo Goaldiggers as head coach for four seasons (1980-84), including back-to-back Turner Cup Championships in 1982 and 1983. The quest for three straight fell short in the 1984 Turner Cup Finals. 



The center from Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario played six seasons in Toledo (1974-79), helping the Goaldiggers win Turner Cup titles in 1975 and 1978. McCabe is second on the all-time Goaldiggers scoring list, with 169 goals with 236 assists in 429 regular season games.  



The defenseman from Port Dalhousie, Ontario played 13 seasons in Toledo (Mercurys 1952-62, Blades 1964-68, Hornets 1970-71). He scored a total of 110 goals with 249 assists in a Toledo uniform. Mitchell also served as head coach of the Toledo Blades in 1969-70 and Toledo Hornets in 1970-71.



The Winnipeg, Manitoba native is considered one of the “founding fathers” of hockey in Toledo. Played one season with the Toledo’s first semi-pro team, the Babcocks. Was the first head coach and longtime general manager of the Toledo Mercurys, building three IHL Turner Cup Championship teams (1948, 1951, 1952). Served as commissioner of the IHL from 1962 until 1967.



The Toledo Walleye will hold a special induction luncheon and ceremony on Saturday, February 24, beginning at 2 p.m. Tickets for the Hall of Fame luncheon and Toledo Walleye game are $36 ($23 if you already have a game ticket). There will also be a special banner raising ceremony before the Walleye game beginning at 7 p.m. Click here for more information.